Legal Recreational Use Continues Its March Across the U.S.

On May 30, Minnesota joined 22 other U.S. states and the District of Columbia in ending cannabis prohibition. Legal possession and home grow will go into effect August 1, 2023, with licensed commercial sales expected in 12-18 months.

Florida, Ohio and Pennsylvania may be next, predicts CNBC.

According to the National Conference of State Legislatures, only three states have no public marijuana use (no medical, no recreational) of any kind: Idaho, Kansas and Nebraska.

Here’s a complete list of recreational cannabis-legal states and the year in which their legalization measure was approved.

Alaska (2014)
Arizona (2020)
California (2016)
Colorado (2012)
Connecticut (2021)
Delaware (2023)
*District of Columbia (2015)
Illinois (2019)
Maine (2016)
Maryland (2022)
Massachusetts (2016)
Michigan (2018)
Minnesota (2023)
Missouri (2022)
Montana (2020)
Nevada (2016)
New Jersey (2020)
New Mexico (2021)
New York (2021)
Oregon (2014)
Rhode Island (2022)
Vermont (2020)
Virginia (2021)
Washington (2012)

*“Recreational cannabis sales are not legal in D.C., as Congressional Republicans have consistently included language in appropriations bills that prevents the district from establishing an independent regulatory board,” U.S. News & World Report reported. “Without licensed retailers, D.C.’s adult-use marijuana trade relies on gifting services.”

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *